Municipal Information

The Kingsville Historical Coin Series pays homage to pivotal people, places and events that have helped shape our town. Each Council term sees the creation of a single design which is meticulously researched, planned and illustrated before being custom printed and distributed to committee members and volunteers in recognition of the positive impact they have made in our community.  


Colonel King Coin - Front FaceColonel King Coin - Back Face

Commissioned and Presented by: Mayor Nelson Santos
Illustrated and Designed by: Kristine Verbeek of K Design Studio, Kingsville, ON
Research Assistance provided by: The Kingsville-Gosfield Heritage Society and Kingsville Historical Park Museum

Our second coin honours popular local teacher, active community leader and pioneer citizen, Colonel James King. King was born in Devonshire, England in 1805 and immigrated to Montréal in 1829 with his wife, Sarah (Perry) Nightingale and her two sons, Leonard and Ernest Nightingale. Here, King conducted a Boys' school with clergyman, Dr. Workman. After a few years, the King family and Dr. Workman left Montréal for the state of Michigan due to a cholera outbreak, but made up their minds to dispose of their property when they did not enjoy living in the United States. While retracing their steps to Montréal, the group reached Windsor in December of 1835. As Colonel King and his family were travelling with their infant son, they opted to part ways with Dr. Workman, rent a house and remain in Windsor until spring. Not one to be idle, King went to Gosfield and took a school through the winter. His arduous efforts to teach under the handicaps of pioneer living were unique. He afterwards engaged as clerk to the Mill Co., whose business was near Kingsville and made up his mind to remain in Essex County.

Considered the "Founder of Kingsville," Colonel King played an active and constructive role in Kingsville's early life. He built the first house in the area, on what is now King Street and was instrumental in mapping out parts of two farms into building lots in 1850, from Mill Street North to Water Street and Prince Albert Street East to Spruce Street, making Division Street and Main Street the main intersection of the new community. He was a loyal soldier; named Lieutenant Colonel of the Third Essex Regiment when rebellion broke out in the Canadian colony in 1837. For many years, he was the superintendent of schools for Gosfield and was active in building the first Anglican Church in Kingsville. During his later years, he would hold positions as a customs officer, notary public and division court clerk, administering all offices to the satisfaction of the people.

In recognition of their founder, the name "Kingsville" was chosen by its citizens in 1852 as the name of their new postal outlet and existing hamlet. During the 1999 amalgamation of the Townships of Gosfield North and South with the Town of Kingsville and Villages of Ruthven and Cottam, voters selected "Kingsville" as the name to represent their larger, diverse municipality. Colonel James King died Monday, September 13, 1880 and left a family of three sons, one daughter and two stepsons: Dr. Sydney King, James Workman King, Alfred King, Helena (King) Allworth, Leonard Nightingale and Ernest Nightingale. Two of his sons, James and Sydney, would spend their entire lives in Kingsville and leave their own indelible mark on the community. Also included in the coin's illustration is the unusual octagonal shaped house known as Kingsholme, erected by Colonel King between 1855 and 1859. Chosen as a representation of Kingsville's architectural beauty, Kingsholme is enclosed on three sides by a fieldstone wall; a lasting and timeless structure that appears at many historical sites in town. Despite modifications to accommodate household improvements throughout the decades, Kingsholme retains its considerable charm and remains a well-known local landmark. The Town of Kingsville takes great pride in preserving its rich and storied past. The book series, "Kingsville 1790-2000: A Stroll through Time" is a fascinating resource for anyone looking to uncover more of the town's history. Learn about Heritage Designated properties and historic sites at and


Jack Miner Coin - Front FaceJack Miner Coin - Back Face

Commissioned and Presented by: Mayor Nelson Santos
Illustrated and Designed by: Kristine Verbeek of K Design Studio, Kingsville, ON
Research Assistance provided by: the Kingsville-Gosfield Heritage Society, the Jack Miner Migratory Bird Foundation and Kingsville Historical Park Museum

Our first coin "Wild Goose Jack" pays tribute to Jack Miner, the man who made Kingsville a household name in the 1900's and became known as the "Father of Conservation." Born in Dover Centre, Ohio, Jack was deemed "not suited for school" and spent most of his spare time in the creeks and woods studying the habits of wildlife and waterfowl. At thirteen, he moved with his family to Kingsville and helped supplement the family income as a professional trapper and hunter, before founding a brick and tile manufacturing business. By 1900, Jack began to see a noticeable decrease in game and realized that a balanced approach to conservation was necessary to protect bird and animal life. In 1904, he founded the Jack Miner Migratory Bird Sanctuary for the conservation of migratory waterfowl and birds. Information collected by Jack Miner through the practice of tagging ducks and geese as they passed through his Sanctuary led to the establishment of the Migratory Bird Treaty between the United States and Canada in 1916, and the Migratory Bird Convention Act in 1917.

In order to raise money to maintain the sanctuary, Jack embarked on a series of lecture tours that featured educational videos sponsored by his friend, automobile manufacturer Henry Ford. His pleasing personality drew large crowds, captivated audiences, and gained generous support from the press. In 1914, he was inspired to include a verse of scripture on the bands, which had a profound effect on the hunters who found the verse on birds they killed, and on the thousands of people who knew Jack Miner's name. Jack's research, passion and purpose made him North America's most respected conservationist throughout his lifetime. Countless thousands of people have been privileged to visit the Sanctuary and continue to enjoy this unique spot year after year. At the time of his death in 1944, he was referred to as one of the five best known men in North America alongside Henry Ford, Thomas Jefferson, Charles Lindbergh and Eddie Rickenbacker. A deserved and enduring tribute was paid to him when Canadian Parliament passed an Act in 1947 fixing the week of his birthday, April 10th, as National Wildlife Week. The Jack Miner Migratory Bird Foundation continues to promote Jack Miner's legacy through banding, education programs, special events and exhibitions to this day.